TekSavvy vs Primus Internet plans in Canada (2026)

TekSavvy and Primus are both independent Canadian internet providers that sell service over networks owned by larger carriers rather than building their own infrastructure nationwide. TekSavvy operates in all 10 provinces, offering DSL over Bell and Telus lines, cable over Rogers, Cogeco, Shaw, Videotron, and Eastlink infrastructure, and fibre in select areas, with a mix of no contract, 12 month, and 24 month plans. Many TekSavvy plans carry a 12 month bill credit that lowers the price in the first year before it reverts to a higher regular rate. Primus is part of the Bell family but independently operated, and positions itself as a national fibre internet provider focused on choice and value; it sells service over the Bell, Rogers, Shaw, and Cogeco networks, and the network and plans available vary by address. In the Topicks.ca database, Primus offers fibre plans in Ontario and Quebec and cable plans in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, all on a no contract basis at regular monthly rates. The two providers overlap in Ontario, Quebec, Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, so this page compares them on plans, pricing, speeds, coverage, contract terms, equipment, and support.

TekSavvy Internet
22
plans (all 10 provinces) · from $32.95/mo
Primus Internet
7
plans (ON, QC, AB, BC, SK) · from $55/mo
TekSavvy top speed
3,000 Mbps
3000/3000 Mbps · Fibre (select areas)
Primus top speed
1,000 Mbps
Fibre (ON, QC) · Cable (AB, BC, SK)

Plans and pricing

TekSavvy offers 22 plans across DSL, cable, and fibre, starting at $32.95/month. Many TekSavvy prices include a temporary bill credit for the first 12 months, after which the plan reverts to its regular rate (shown struck through below). Primus offers 7 no contract plans at regular monthly rates with no promotional period: 4 fibre plans in Ontario and Quebec ($55 to $70/month), with symmetrical 150/150 and 500/500 Mbps tiers and 1000/750 Mbps gigabit plans, and 3 cable plans in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan ($55 to $130/month), from 75/50 Mbps to 1000/200 Mbps.

TekSavvy Internet
22 plans · DSL, Cable and Fibre · all 10 provinces · showing 5 representative plans · View all TekSavvy plans
Ontario · Cable
TekSavvy Cable 30 Internet - ON
30/5 Mbps · Cable · 12 months · unlimited
$32.95/mowas $65.95
TekSavvy Cable 100 Internet - ON
100/100 Mbps · Cable · no contract · unlimited
$38.95/mowas $74.95
TekSavvy Cable 1 Gbps Internet - ON
1024/200 Mbps · Cable · no contract · unlimited
$71.95/mowas $120.95
TekSavvy Cable 500 Internet - ON
500/200 Mbps · Cable · no contract · unlimited
$75.95/mowas $110.95
MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PE, QC · Fibre
TekSavvy 1.5 Gbps Unlimited - MB,NB,NL,NS,ON,PE,QC
1500/940 Mbps · Fibre · no contract · unlimited
$89.95/mowas $119.95
Primus Internet
7 plans · Fibre and Cable · ON, QC, AB, BC, SK · plans vary by address · View all Primus plans
Ontario and Quebec · No Contract · Fibre
Unlimited Fibre 150 Mbps
150/150 Mbps · Fibre · ON, QC · no contract
$55/mo
Unlimited Fibre 500 Mbps
500/500 Mbps · Fibre · ON, QC · no contract
$60/mo
Unlimited Fibre 1Gb - ON
1000/750 Mbps · Fibre · ON · no contract
$70/mo
Unlimited Fibre 1Gb - QC
1000/750 Mbps · Fibre · QC · no contract
$70/mo
AB, BC, SK · No Contract · Cable
High-Speed Internet 75 Mbps
75/50 Mbps · Cable · AB, BC, SK · no contract
$55/mo
Unlimited High Speed Internet 500
500/200 Mbps · Cable · AB, BC, SK · no contract
$90/mo
Unlimited High Speed Internet 1Gb
1000/200 Mbps · Cable · AB, BC, SK · no contract
$130/mo

The price comparison depends on the speed tier and on how long you plan to stay. At the entry level, TekSavvy is cheaper in the first year: Cable 100 Internet in Ontario is $38.95/month for 100/100 Mbps versus $55/month for Primus 150/150 Mbps fibre, but the TekSavvy plan reverts to $74.95/month after 12 months, while the Primus price stays at $55/month. At higher tiers in Ontario, Primus is cheaper even against TekSavvy promotional pricing: Primus 500/500 Mbps fibre is $60/month versus $75.95/month for TekSavvy Cable 500 (500/200 Mbps, reverting to $110.95), and Primus 1000/750 Mbps fibre is $70/month versus $71.95/month for TekSavvy Cable 1 Gbps (1024/200 Mbps, reverting to $120.95). Above gigabit, TekSavvy is the only option of the two: its 1500/940 Mbps fibre plan is $89.95/month (regular $119.95) in select markets, and its fastest plan reaches 3,000/3,000 Mbps symmetrical fibre in select Manitoba, Atlantic Canada, Ontario, and Quebec markets. In Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, TekSavvy Cable 30 starts at $32.95/month for the first 12 months before reverting to $60.95/month, while Primus starts at $55/month for 75/50 Mbps.

Prices, perks, bonuses, and promotional offers are subject to change at any time. Always confirm current details directly with the provider before signing up.

Network and coverage

Geographic reach is the clearest coverage difference between these two providers. TekSavvy serves all 10 provinces, while Primus plans in the Topicks.ca database are listed in five: Ontario, Quebec, Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan. Residents of Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island can choose TekSavvy but not Primus. Neither provider owns the last-mile network for the plans compared here. TekSavvy DSL plans run over Bell and Telus lines in Ontario, Quebec, Alberta, and British Columbia; TekSavvy cable plans run over Rogers, Cogeco, Shaw, Videotron, and Eastlink infrastructure in Ontario, Quebec, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland and Labrador; and Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island are reached only through TekSavvy fibre plans. Primus sells service over the Bell, Rogers, Shaw, and Cogeco networks, with fibre in Ontario and Quebec and cable in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan; the network used varies by address.

TekSavvy Internet (reseller)
Cable (Rogers, Cogeco, Shaw, Videotron, Eastlink) ON, QC, AB, BC, MB, SK, NB, NL
DSL (Bell and Telus) ON, QC, AB, BC
Fibre (only option in NS, PE) Select areas
Provinces served All 10 provinces
Max download speed 3,000 Mbps (fibre, select areas)
Max upload speed 3,000 Mbps (fibre, select areas)
Primus Internet (reseller)
Fibre ON, QC
Cable AB, BC, SK
Underlying networks Bell, Rogers, Shaw, Cogeco (varies by location)
Provinces served ON, QC, AB, BC, SK
Max download speed 1,000 Mbps (ON, QC, AB, BC, SK)
Max upload speed 750 Mbps (fibre, ON and QC)

TekSavvy reaches twice as many provinces as Primus and offers a wider choice of technology: DSL, cable, and fibre, versus fibre in Ontario and Quebec and cable in Western Canada from Primus. TekSavvy also has the higher speed ceiling, with symmetrical 3,000 Mbps fibre in select markets compared to a 1,000 Mbps maximum from Primus. Where the two overlap, availability depends on which host network reaches your address, so the practical question is which plans each provider can offer at your location. In Ontario and Quebec, Primus fibre offers symmetrical 150 and 500 Mbps tiers and 750 Mbps upload on gigabit, well above the 200 Mbps upload on the TekSavvy Ontario cable plans shown above.

Coverage figures are provider-reported. Independent verification of broadband footprint is not available. Bar widths reflect the share of the 10 provinces served by each technology, or relative speed, and are visual guides only. TekSavvy sells service over Bell and Telus (DSL) and Rogers, Cogeco, Shaw, Videotron, and Eastlink (cable), depending on province. Primus sells service over the Bell, Rogers, Shaw, and Cogeco networks, and the network used varies by location. View the Bell internet coverage map, Telus internet coverage map, Rogers internet coverage map, Shaw internet coverage map, Cogeco internet coverage map, and Videotron internet coverage map on Topicks.ca for general service area details. Always confirm availability at your address directly with the provider.

Head-to-head comparison

Feature TekSavvy Primus
Starting price $32.95/mo (30 Mbps Cable, ON / AB, BC, MB, SK; reverts after 12 months) $55/mo (150/150 Mbps Fibre, ON, QC / 75/50 Mbps Cable, AB, BC, SK)
Entry-level fibre (ON) 1500/940 Mbps · $89.95/mo (reverts to $119.95) 150/150 Mbps · $55/mo (regular rate)
100 to 150 Mbps tier (ON) $38.95/mo for 100/100 Mbps Cable (reverts to $74.95) $55/mo for 150/150 Mbps Fibre (regular rate)
500 Mbps tier (ON) $75.95/mo for 500/200 Mbps Cable (reverts to $110.95) $60/mo for 500/500 Mbps Fibre
Gigabit-tier price (ON) $71.95/mo for 1024/200 Mbps Cable (reverts to $120.95) $70/mo for 1000/750 Mbps Fibre
Entry price (AB, BC, SK) $32.95/mo for Cable 30 (reverts to $60.95) $55/mo for 75/50 Mbps Cable
Top residential speed 3,000/3,000 Mbps (Fibre, select areas) 1,000/750 Mbps (Fibre, ON, QC)
Upload speeds Up to 3,000 Mbps (Fibre, select areas); 200 Mbps on ON cable 500 and gigabit plans Up to 750 Mbps (Fibre, ON, QC); symmetrical 150 and 500 Mbps tiers
Data cap Unlimited (all plans) Unlimited on plans branded Unlimited; allowance not stated for High-Speed Internet 75 Mbps
Price stability Most discounted plans revert to a higher rate after 12 months Regular monthly rates, no promotional reversion
Price lock guarantee No stated price guarantee No stated price guarantee
Contract options Mix of no-contract, 12-month, and 24-month plans No contract (all plans)
Activation and equipment $0 hardware loan, $0 activation, $0 shipping (selected plans) Free activation and Wi-Fi 6 equipment (select plans)
Installation fee Not specified; confirm with provider Not specified; confirm with provider
Technology DSL, Cable, and Fibre Fibre (ON, QC) and Cable (AB, BC, SK)
Provinces served All 10 provinces 5 (ON, QC, AB, BC, SK)
Bundle discounts TV and Internet bundles available Not listed
Customer support 24/7 phone, email, live chat, X and Facebook, community forum, network status page, FAQ Phone, live chat, self-support, Self-Help app, network status page, English and French
Customer rating (Topicks.ca) 1.8 / 5 5.0 / 5

Contract and pricing details

TekSavvy mixes pricing models. Most plans, including Cable 100, Cable 500, and Cable 1 Gbps in Ontario, are sold on a no contract basis but include a temporary bill credit that applies for the first 12 months before the price rises to the regular rate: Cable 100 goes from $38.95/month to $74.95/month, Cable 500 from $75.95/month to $110.95/month, and Cable 1 Gbps from $71.95/month to $120.95/month. The Cable 30 plan in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan starts at $32.95/month for the first 12 months and then reverts to $60.95/month. A smaller number of plans carry a fixed 12-month term, including Cable 30 Internet in Ontario ($32.95/month, reverting to $65.95/month), Internet 75 in Alberta and British Columbia, and Fibre 1.5 Gbps in Alberta and British Columbia. The Chatham-Kent, Ontario Fibre 1 Gbps plan carries a 24-month term with a $20/month bill credit that applies only to the first 12 months, after which the price rises to $94.95/month for the remainder of the term. Several plans, including DSL 25 Mbps in Ontario and Quebec, DSL 50 Mbps in Alberta, DSL 50 Mbps in Ontario and Quebec, and the Cable 30, 60, and 120 Unlimited plans in Quebec, carry no promotional discount and are sold at a flat ongoing rate from the start. No price guarantee is stated.

Primus plans are all no contract, with no stated price guarantee and no promotional pricing listed; the listed prices are regular monthly rates. Pricing and technology vary by region: in Ontario and Quebec, fibre plans are 150/150 Mbps at $55/month, 500/500 Mbps at $60/month, and 1000/750 Mbps at $70/month (the same price in both provinces). In Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, cable plans are 75/50 Mbps at $55/month, 500/200 Mbps at $90/month, and 1000/200 Mbps at $130/month. Available plans may vary based on your address, so confirm pricing and eligibility directly with Primus.

Equipment and installation

TekSavvy offers a $0 hardware loan, $0 activation fee, and $0 shipping fee on selected plans, removing several of the upfront costs that typically come with switching providers. These waivers apply to selected plans only rather than the full lineup, so confirm which plans qualify directly with TekSavvy at signup. Self-install versus professional installation terms and fees are not specified in available plan data; confirm installation details with TekSavvy directly.

Primus includes Wi-Fi 6 equipment and free activation on select plans; the plans that qualify are not specified in available plan data. Installation fees and equipment rental or purchase terms are also not specified. Fees may vary; confirm equipment, activation, and installation terms directly with Primus before signing up.

Perks and add-ons

TekSavvy allows customers to bundle TV and Internet service under one account, and waives the hardware loan, activation, and shipping fees on selected plans. All TekSavvy plans include unlimited data. No student pricing is listed in available plan data.

Primus offers free activation and Wi-Fi 6 equipment on select plans. Primus does not list bundle discounts, streaming perks, loyalty perks, or student pricing in available plan data.

Customer support

TekSavvy
Phone support (24/7)
Email support
Live chat
Message on X / Facebook
Community forum
Network status page (teksavvy.com/network-status)
FAQ
1.8/5
customer rating · Topicks.ca
Primus
Phone support
Live chat support
Self-support and Self-Help app
Network status page (support.primus.ca)
English and French support
5.0/5
customer rating · Topicks.ca

Both providers offer phone and live chat support. TekSavvy lists the broader set of channels, including 24/7 phone support, email, social media messaging on X and Facebook, a community forum, and an FAQ. Primus offers phone, live chat, self-support, and a Self-Help app, with support in English and French. Despite the narrower channel list, Primus holds a much higher customer rating on Topicks.ca at 5.0/5, compared to 1.8/5 for TekSavvy.

Who should choose which?

Choose TekSavvy if...
  • You live in Manitoba or Atlantic Canada: TekSavvy serves all 10 provinces, while no Primus plans are listed in MB, NB, NL, NS, or PE
  • You want the lowest first-year bill at entry level: TekSavvy starts at $32.95/month and offers 100/100 Mbps cable in Ontario at $38.95/month for the first 12 months, versus $55/month for the cheapest Primus plan
  • You want speeds above 1 Gbps: TekSavvy offers 1500/940 Mbps fibre at $89.95/month and up to 3,000/3,000 Mbps fibre in select markets, while Primus tops out at 1,000 Mbps
  • You want to bundle TV and Internet with one provider, which Primus does not list
  • You want a choice of DSL, cable, or fibre depending on what reaches your address
  • You prefer 24/7 phone support alongside email, live chat, social media, and a community forum
  • You want $0 hardware loan, $0 activation, and $0 shipping, available on selected TekSavvy plans
Choose Primus if...
  • You are in Ontario or Quebec and Primus fibre is available at your address: plans and networks vary by location, so confirm eligibility with Primus first
  • You want a price that does not jump after the first year: all Primus prices are regular monthly rates, while most discounted TekSavvy plans revert to a higher rate after 12 months
  • You want 500 Mbps or gigabit in Ontario for less: Primus 500/500 Mbps is $60/month versus $75.95/month for TekSavvy Cable 500, and Primus 1000/750 Mbps is $70/month versus $71.95/month for TekSavvy Cable 1 Gbps, before either TekSavvy plan reverts
  • You need strong upload at mid-range prices: Primus offers symmetrical 150/150 and 500/500 Mbps fibre and 750 Mbps upload on gigabit
  • You want no contract on every plan, with no 12-month or 24-month terms to track
  • You value the higher customer rating: Primus holds 5.0/5 on Topicks.ca versus 1.8/5 for TekSavvy
  • You want bilingual support in English and French, with a Self-Help app

TekSavvy wins on reach, top speed, entry pricing, and bundling, with service in all 10 provinces versus 5 for Primus, fibre speeds up to 3,000/3,000 Mbps in select markets, a $32.95/month starting price for the first 12 months, TV and Internet bundles, $0 hardware, activation, and shipping on selected plans, and 24/7 phone support. Primus wins on price stability, mid-to-high tier fibre value in Ontario, contract simplicity, and customer satisfaction, with regular rates that do not revert, 500/500 Mbps at $60/month and 1000/750 Mbps at $70/month, no contract on every plan, and a 5.0/5 Topicks.ca rating versus 1.8/5 for TekSavvy. The deciding factors for most households are location and time horizon: outside Ontario, Quebec, Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, or for speeds above 1 Gbps, TekSavvy is the option of the two; where Primus fibre is available and you want a price that stays the same after year one, Primus is the stronger value.

View the Bell internet coverage map, Telus internet coverage map, Rogers internet coverage map, Shaw internet coverage map, Cogeco internet coverage map, and Videotron internet coverage map on Topicks.ca to check which networks serve your area.

The information on this page is provided for general informational purposes only. All prices and promotional offers are subject to change at any time without notice. While we strive to keep content accurate, we make no representations or warranties regarding its completeness or accuracy. We are not responsible for any losses, damages, or decisions made based on the information provided. Always confirm current details directly with the provider before making any purchase decisions.

Related Guide You Might Like

Share your feedback

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Topicks.ca
Logo

Leave Your Review

Would you mind taking just 1 minute to share your thoughts about your ISP/Mobile Carrier? Your insights can greatly assist others in making informed choices.