Telus and Beanfield both sell fibre internet, but at very different scales. Telus is a national facility-based provider that builds and operates its own PureFibre and OPTIK fibre networks, with its strongest footprint in British Columbia and Alberta, a fibre presence in Ontario and Quebec, and capped mobile internet plans sold nationwide. Beanfield is an independent provider that builds and owns its own fibre-to-the-unit network, serving select dense urban residential buildings in Montreal, the Toronto and Greater Toronto Area, and Metro Vancouver. Beanfield plans start at $50/month in BC and $65/month in Ontario and Quebec, all with no contract and a two-year price guarantee. Telus home internet plans start at $71/month in Quebec (no contract) and $80/month in BC and Alberta (24-month term), with a 5-year Plan Price Lock on select PureFibre plans in BC and Alberta. The two providers overlap in British Columbia, Ontario, and Quebec, so this page compares them province by province on plans, pricing, speeds, coverage, contract terms, and equipment.
Plans and pricing
Telus offers five PureFibre plans in Alberta and British Columbia on 24-month terms, from $80/month for PureFibre 500 (500/500 Mbps) to $130/month for PureFibre 5 Gig (5000/5000 Mbps); the 1 Gig, 1.5 Gig, 3 Gig, and 5 Gig plans include a 5-year Plan Price Lock. In Quebec, Telus offers four no-contract plans from $71/month for OPTIK 250/250 to $130/month for PureFibre 1.5G, and in Ontario a single no-contract plan, PureFibre 1.5G at $130/month. Beanfield offers no-contract symmetrical fibre plans with a two-year price guarantee in all three of its provinces: 1, 3, and 8 Gbps in BC (from $50/month) and Ontario (from $65/month), and 1 Gbps only in Quebec ($65/month).
Where both providers are available, Beanfield is cheaper at every comparable tier. In British Columbia, Beanfield 1 Gbps is $50/month versus $95/month for Telus PureFibre 1 Gig (940/940 Mbps, 24-month term), a $45/month difference; at 3 Gbps the gap is also $45/month ($65 versus $110); and Beanfield 8 Gbps at $80/month costs $50/month less than Telus PureFibre 5 Gig at $130/month while delivering a faster top speed. In Ontario, the only Telus plan is PureFibre 1.5G at $130/month, while Beanfield offers 1 Gbps at $65/month and 3 Gbps at $75/month. Quebec is closer: Beanfield 1 Gbps at $65/month undercuts Telus OPTIK GIGA 1.5 at $90/month by $25/month, but Telus offers a lower-speed entry plan (OPTIK 250/250 at $71/month) and a faster top tier (OPTIK GIGA 3.0 at 3000/3000 Mbps for $100/month), while Beanfield tops out at 1 Gbps in Quebec. Listed prices for both providers include payment discounts: $5/month autopay for Beanfield, and a $5 to $24/month pre-authorized payment discount (QC) or $10/month pre-authorized bank discount (AB/BC) for Telus.
Network and coverage
Coverage is the main factor separating Telus and Beanfield. Telus builds and operates its own fibre network and is the dominant facility-based provider in British Columbia and Alberta, with a fibre footprint in parts of Ontario and Quebec and mobile internet plans available nationwide. Beanfield also owns its fibre network, but serves only select dense urban residential buildings in Montreal, Toronto/GTA, and Metro Vancouver, and does not serve Alberta at all. According to ISED National Broadband Data via the Topicks.ca Telus coverage map, Telus reaches 63.7% of serviceable hex cells across Canada overall. Beanfield does not have an equivalent independently sourced coverage figure, so its footprint below is provider-reported.
Telus serves a far larger footprint, with ISED-measured coverage strongest in Alberta (94% of hex cells) and substantial in Quebec (78%), Ontario (68%), and British Columbia (57%). These figures include all Telus technologies, and the Telus fixed-line footprint in Ontario and Quebec leans mobile-heavy: fibre-to-the-home coverage in Quebec reaches 13.6% of hexes (1,149 of 8,425). Beanfield availability must be confirmed at the building level in Montreal, Toronto/GTA, and Metro Vancouver. Where Beanfield serves your building, it offers fully symmetrical speeds up to 8 Gbps in Ontario and BC; in Alberta, Telus is the only option of the two.
Head-to-head comparison
| Feature | Telus | Beanfield |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (BC) | $80/mo (PureFibre 500 · 500/500 Mbps · 24-month term) | $50/mo (1 Gbps · 1000/1000 Mbps · no contract) |
| Starting price (ON) | $130/mo (PureFibre 1.5G · 1500/1000 Mbps · no contract) | $65/mo (1 Gbps · 1000/1000 Mbps · no contract) |
| Starting price (QC) | $71/mo (OPTIK 250/250 Mbps · no contract) | $65/mo (1 Gbps · 1000/1000 Mbps · no contract) |
| Starting price (AB) | $80/mo (PureFibre 500 · 500/500 Mbps · 24-month term) | Not available in AB |
| Gigabit-tier price (BC) | $95/mo for 940/940 Mbps (24-month term) | $50/mo for 1000/1000 Mbps (no contract) |
| Gigabit-tier price (QC) | $90/mo for 1500/1000 Mbps (no contract) | $65/mo for 1000/1000 Mbps (no contract) |
| 3 Gbps tier price (BC) | $110/mo for 3000/3000 Mbps (24-month term) | $65/mo for 3000/3000 Mbps (no contract) |
| 3 Gbps tier price (ON) | No 3 Gbps plan listed in ON (top plan 1500/1000 Mbps) | $75/mo for 3000/3000 Mbps (no contract) |
| 3 Gbps tier price (QC) | $100/mo for 3000/3000 Mbps (no contract) | No 3 Gbps plan listed in QC (top plan 1 Gbps) |
| Top-tier price (BC) | $130/mo for 5000/5000 Mbps (24-month term) | $80/mo for 8000/8000 Mbps (no contract) |
| Top residential speed | 5,000/5,000 Mbps (AB, BC) | 8,000/8,000 Mbps (ON, BC) |
| Top residential speed (QC) | 3,000/3,000 Mbps | 1,000/1,000 Mbps |
| Upload speeds | Symmetrical on most fibre tiers; 1.5 Gig tiers upload at 1000 Mbps | Fully symmetrical on all tiers in all provinces |
| Data cap | Unlimited (all home fibre plans) | Unlimited (all plans) |
| Price lock guarantee | 5-year Plan Price Lock (PureFibre 1 Gig, 1.5 Gig, 3 Gig, 5 Gig in AB/BC only) | 2-year price guarantee (all plans, all provinces) |
| Contract options | No contract (QC, ON); 24-month term (AB/BC) | No contract (all plans) |
| Installation fee | Free professional installation on PureFibre 1.5G (ON, QC); other plans not specified. Fees may vary. | Not specified; confirm with provider. Fees may vary. |
| Equipment included | Not specified in plan data; confirm with provider | Wi-Fi 6 (1 Gbps, ON/BC); Wi-Fi 7 Nokia WiFi Beacon (3 and 8 Gbps, ON/BC); hardware rental included (QC) |
| Mobile internet option | Yes (5GB, 20GB, 50GB plans at $60, $90, $135/mo, nationwide) | Not listed |
| Coverage area | AB, BC + parts of ON, QC (mobile internet nationwide) | Montreal, Toronto/GTA, Metro Vancouver (select buildings only) |
| Bundle discounts | Yes (with Telus Mobility) | Not listed |
| Student plans | Not listed | Not listed |
| Customer support | Phone, chat, My Telus app, retail stores, online portal | Phone, contact form, simple FAQ |
| Customer rating (Topicks.ca) | 2.0 / 5 | No rating yet |
Contract and pricing details
Telus uses different contract structures by province. In Alberta and British Columbia, all five PureFibre plans require a 24-month term: PureFibre 500 at $80/month (reg. $125), PureFibre 1 Gig at $95/month (reg. $135), PureFibre 1.5 Gig at $95/month (reg. $140), PureFibre 3 Gig at $110/month (reg. $155), and PureFibre 5 Gig at $130/month (reg. $165). These prices include a $10/month pre-authorized bank discount plus a 2-year term discount of $30/month (500 and 1 Gig), $35/month (1.5 Gig and 3 Gig), or $25/month (5 Gig). The 1 Gig, 1.5 Gig, 3 Gig, and 5 Gig plans include a 5-year Plan Price Lock; PureFibre 500 does not list one. In Quebec, all four plans are no contract: OPTIK 250/250 at $71/month (reg. $76, with a $5/month pre-authorized payment discount), OPTIK GIGA 1.5 at $90/month (reg. $104, $14/month discount), OPTIK GIGA 3.0 at $100/month (reg. $124, $24/month discount), and PureFibre 1.5G at a flat $130/month. In Ontario, PureFibre 1.5G is the only plan, at a flat $130/month with no contract. Telus mobile internet plans (5GB at $60, 20GB at $90, 50GB at $135 per month) are sold nationwide and are not counted as home internet plans on this page.
Beanfield plans are all no contract with a two-year price guarantee in British Columbia, Ontario, and Quebec. BC plans are 1 Gbps at $50/month (reg. $55), 3 Gbps at $65/month (reg. $70), and 8 Gbps at $80/month (reg. $85). Ontario plans are 1 Gbps at $65/month (reg. $70), 3 Gbps at $75/month (reg. $80), and 8 Gbps at $90/month (reg. $95). Quebec has a single plan, 1 Gbps at $65/month (reg. $70). Every listed Beanfield price reflects a $5/month autopay discount; customers who do not enroll in autopay pay the regular price. Installation fee terms are not specified in available plan data; confirm directly with Beanfield.
Equipment and installation
Telus offers free professional installation on the PureFibre 1.5G plans in Ontario and Quebec. Installation terms for other Telus plans, and modem or Wi-Fi equipment fees on any Telus plan, are not specified in available plan data. Fees may vary; confirm current terms directly with Telus before signing up.
Beanfield lists Wi-Fi 6 equipment on its 1 Gbps plans in Ontario and BC, Wi-Fi 7 (Nokia WiFi Beacon) on its 3 Gbps and 8 Gbps plans in Ontario and BC, and hardware rental included on its Quebec 1 Gbps plan. Installation fee terms are not specified in available plan data and fees may vary; confirm costs and scheduling directly with Beanfield. Because Beanfield serves residential buildings over its own in-building fibre, installation may differ from a standard home installation.
Perks and add-ons
Telus includes a 5-year Plan Price Lock on PureFibre 1 Gig, 1.5 Gig, 3 Gig, and 5 Gig in Alberta and BC, free professional installation on PureFibre 1.5G in Ontario and Quebec, and pre-authorized payment discounts of $5 to $24/month in Quebec and $10/month in Alberta and BC. Bundling home internet with Telus Mobility may provide additional savings. Telus also sells capped mobile internet plans nationwide for households outside its fixed-line footprint. Telus does not list student internet pricing in available plan data.
Beanfield includes a two-year price guarantee on every plan in every province, a $5/month autopay discount, and Wi-Fi 7 equipment on its 3 Gbps and 8 Gbps tiers in Ontario and BC. Beanfield does not list streaming bundles, loyalty perks, bundle discounts, or student pricing in available plan data.
Customer support
Telus offers a broader set of support channels, including phone, online chat, a self-serve app, retail locations, and an online account portal. Beanfield offers phone support, a contact form, and a simple online FAQ, along with a French language website. Telus holds a 2.0/5 customer rating on Topicks.ca; Beanfield has no Topicks.ca customer rating at this time.
Who should choose which?
- Beanfield does not serve your building, or you live outside Montreal, Toronto/GTA, and Metro Vancouver: Telus is the only option of the two for most households
- You live in Alberta: Beanfield does not serve Alberta, while Telus PureFibre plans run from 500 Mbps to 5 Gbps there
- You are in Quebec and want speeds above 1 Gbps: Telus OPTIK GIGA 3.0 offers 3000/3000 Mbps at $100/month, while Beanfield tops out at 1 Gbps in Quebec
- You want a lower-speed entry plan: Telus offers OPTIK 250/250 in Quebec ($71/month) and PureFibre 500 in AB/BC ($80/month), while Beanfield starts at 1 Gbps
- You want long-term price certainty in AB or BC: the Telus 5-year Plan Price Lock on PureFibre 1 Gig and up runs longer than the Beanfield two-year guarantee
- You need mobile internet: Telus sells capped 5GB to 50GB mobile internet plans nationwide from $60/month
- You want to bundle with Telus Mobility, or prefer in-store, chat, and app-based support
- Your building in Montreal, Toronto/GTA, or Metro Vancouver is served by Beanfield: confirm at the building level first, as Beanfield serves select residential properties only
- You are in Metro Vancouver and want the lowest price: Beanfield 1 Gbps is $50/month versus $95/month for Telus PureFibre 1 Gig, and 8 Gbps is $80/month versus $130/month for Telus PureFibre 5 Gig
- You are in Toronto/GTA: Beanfield offers 1, 3, and 8 Gbps from $65/month, while Telus lists a single Ontario plan at $130/month
- You want the fastest residential speed: Beanfield reaches 8,000/8,000 Mbps in Ontario and BC, versus 5,000/5,000 Mbps for Telus
- You need fully symmetrical upload speeds on every tier, including at 1 Gbps
- You want no contract anywhere: Beanfield plans are no contract in all provinces, while Telus requires a 24-month term in BC
Beanfield wins on price, top speed, symmetrical uploads, and contract flexibility where it is available, offering 1 Gbps symmetrical from $50/month in BC and $65/month in Ontario and Quebec, up to 8 Gbps in Ontario and BC, with no contract and a two-year price guarantee on every plan. In BC it undercuts Telus by $45/month at the gigabit and 3 Gbps tiers. Telus wins on coverage, Alberta and Quebec plan range, long-term price lock, and mobile internet, serving a broad footprint led by Alberta and BC, offering 3 Gbps in Quebec where Beanfield stops at 1 Gbps, a 5-year Plan Price Lock on PureFibre 1 Gig and up in AB/BC, and nationwide mobile internet plans. The deciding factor for most households is geography: if Beanfield serves your building, it offers a strong price and speed advantage, especially in BC and Ontario. If it does not, Telus is the option of the two.
View the Telus internet coverage map and Beanfield internet coverage map on Topicks.ca to check service availability in your area.
