Koodo Mobile and PC Mobile are both no-contract carriers, but they run on different national networks: Koodo is a Telus-owned brand on the Telus network, while PC Mobile operates on the Bell network. PC Mobile is a prepaid-only lineup of 4 plans tied to PC Optimum rewards, with 5G speeds, unlimited US calling, and unlimited long distance from $25/month. Koodo offers 16 plans across monthly prepaid, annual prepaid, and postpaid options, adding rollover data on every postpaid plan, 24-month device financing, and roaming options for travel outside Canada. Neither carrier offers a price lock guarantee.
Plans and pricing
Because PC Mobile sells prepaid plans only, the cards below compare the two prepaid lineups side by side, and Koodo postpaid plans are covered separately underneath. PC Mobile has 4 prepaid plans from $19 to $34/month, each with a top-up data bonus, and runs on 5G from the $25 tier upward. Koodo has 8 prepaid plans: 6 monthly 4G Base Plans from $19 to $39 per 30 days, each with bonus data when automatic top-up is enabled, plus two 365-day plans at $100 and $159 per year. Every Koodo prepaid plan runs at 4G speeds.
Both carriers start their prepaid lineups at $19, and both make data on that tier depend on top-up: PC Mobile gives 1GB through its top-up bonus, while Koodo lists 0.5GB plus a 500MB auto top-up bonus. From $25 the main difference is speed. PC Mobile runs its $25, $30, and $34 plans on 5G, delivering 5GB, 15GB, and 55GB in total once the bonus is counted, while Koodo prices the same $25 and $30 tiers at 4G speeds with 5GB plus a 1GB bonus and 15GB plus a 5GB bonus. At the top end, PC Mobile offers 55GB on 5G for $34, while Koodo stretches further on volume with 75GB plus a 5GB bonus for $39, though still at 4G. PC Mobile also includes unlimited US calling and unlimited long distance on every plan from $25, which Koodo prepaid plans do not list. Koodo is the only one of the two with annual options, at $100 and $159 per year. Quebec residents should note that the Koodo $21 Base Plan is not available in that province.
Koodo postpaid plans
Koodo also sells 8 postpaid plans, a category PC Mobile does not offer. Every Koodo postpaid plan includes rollover data, and 5G speeds on Koodo are available only on postpaid plans from $45/month.
The Koodo postpaid range reaches lower than anything PC Mobile sells, starting at $15/month for a 250MB 3G starter plan, and higher too, topping out at 100GB on 5G for $60/month. The 20GB and 60GB Perk plans include a Pick 1 Free Perk, and the $55/month 60GB plan is the only plan from either carrier with Canada-US-Mexico roaming built in. The trade-off is price: the cheapest Koodo 5G plan is $45/month for 20GB, while PC Mobile reaches 5G at $25/month for 5GB and offers 55GB on 5G for $34/month.
5G and network coverage
Coverage data is based on registered tower locations from the ISED tower registry and Statistics Canada 2021 census boundaries, updated March 2026. These two carriers run on different networks: Koodo uses the Telus network and PC Mobile operates on the Bell network. Nationally the two networks are nearly level on population coverage, with Telus slightly ahead on 4G LTE and Bell slightly ahead on 5G, while the Telus network has considerably more towers.
The national gap between the two networks is a fraction of a percentage point either way: 93.0% versus 92.8% of Canadians on 4G LTE, and 76.3% versus 76.5% on 5G. The bigger difference is infrastructure, with the Telus network running 16,007 towers including 6,863 dedicated 5G sites, compared with 9,986 towers and 3,972 dedicated 5G sites on the Bell network. The Telus network is particularly strong in western Canada, so customers in Alberta and BC may see an edge on Koodo. How much of the 5G footprint you actually use also depends on the plan: PC Mobile opens 5G from $25/month, while Koodo prepaid plans stay on 4G and 5G starts with the $45/month postpaid tier.
Head-to-head comparison
| Feature | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $15/mo (postpaid, 250MB 3G) | $19/mo (prepaid) |
| Cheapest prepaid plan | $19/30 days (0.5GB + 500MB bonus, 4G) | $19/mo (1GB with top-up bonus, 4G) |
| Plan types | Prepaid, annual prepaid, and postpaid | Prepaid only |
| Cheapest 5G plan | $45/mo (20GB, postpaid) | $25/mo (5GB with bonus) |
| Top prepaid plan | $39/30 days, 75GB + 5GB bonus, 4G | $34/mo, 55GB with bonus, 5G |
| Top data tier overall | $60/mo, 100GB, 5G (postpaid) | $34/mo, 55GB with bonus, 5G |
| Unlimited US calling on prepaid | Not listed | Yes - $25+ plans |
| Canada-US-Mexico roaming plan | $55/mo (60GB, postpaid) | No |
| Bonus data on auto top-up | Yes - all 6 monthly prepaid plans | Yes - all 4 plans |
| Rollover data | Yes - all postpaid plans | Not listed |
| Annual plan option | Yes ($100 and $159/year) | No |
| Loyalty rewards | No | Yes - PC Optimum points |
| 4G population coverage | 93.0% (Telus network) | 92.8% (Bell network) |
| 5G population coverage | 76.3% (Telus network) | 76.5% (Bell network) |
| Total towers | 16,007 (Telus network) | 9,986 (Bell network) |
| Device financing | Yes (24 months) | No - no device sales |
| Price lock guarantee | No | No |
| Roaming - USA | $16/day or $35 7-day pass | No roaming offered |
| Roaming - Europe passes | 14-day $50, 30-day $60 | No roaming offered |
| Customer rating (Topicks.ca) | 2.8/5 | 1.0/5 |
Roaming rates compared
This is the clearest split between the two carriers. PC Mobile does not offer international roaming on any of its plans, so it is not an option for anyone who needs service outside Canada. Koodo charges daily rates for every region and adds passes for longer trips: a 7-day pass for the United States, 14-day and 30-day passes for Europe, and 7-day or 14-day passes for other regions. Koodo also sells a postpaid plan with Canada-US-Mexico roaming built in at $55/month. Our data does not specify whether Koodo passes are available on prepaid plans, so prepaid customers should confirm with Koodo before travelling.
United States
| Option | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Daily rate | $16/day | No roaming offered |
| 7-day pass | $35 | No 7-day pass |
Europe
| Option | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Daily rate | $18/day | No roaming offered |
| 14-day pass | $50 | No 14-day pass |
| 30-day pass | $60 | No 30-day pass |
Caribbean and Mexico
| Option | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Daily rate | $18/day | No roaming offered |
| 7-day pass | $49 | No 7-day pass |
Asia
| Option | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Daily rate | $18/day | No roaming offered |
| 14-day pass | $70 | No 14-day pass |
Latin America and other international destinations
| Option | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Daily rate | $18/day | No roaming offered |
| 7-day pass | $60 | No 7-day pass |
Australia and New Zealand
| Option | Koodo Mobile | PC Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Daily rate | $18/day | No roaming offered |
| 7-day pass | $50 | No 7-day pass |
Koodo wins every region by default, since PC Mobile has no roaming at all. For short US trips the Koodo 7-day pass at $35 beats paying the $16 daily rate for three days or more, and in Europe the 14-day pass at $50 costs less than three days at the $18 daily rate. Frequent cross-border travellers on postpaid may find the $55/month Canada-US-Mexico plan simpler than buying passes. PC Mobile customers who travel will need a separate solution, such as a local SIM at their destination.
Device financing
PC Mobile does not sell mobile devices; it is a prepaid SIM and eSIM service only, so customers need an unlocked or compatible phone before signing up. Koodo offers 24-month device financing that spreads the cost of a new phone across monthly installments. Financing eligibility by plan type is not specified in our data, so confirm with Koodo whether financing is available alongside a prepaid plan or requires postpaid.
Perks and add-ons
Koodo Mobile includes rollover data on all 8 postpaid plans, carrying unused data into the next month, and a Pick 1 Free Perk on the 20GB and 60GB Perk plans. All 6 monthly prepaid Base Plans add bonus data with automatic top-up, from 500MB on the $19 plan to 5GB on the $30, $35, and $39 plans. Unlimited international messaging is included on all 6 monthly prepaid plans, the $159 annual plan, the Pay-per-use Data Starter Plan, and every 5G postpaid plan. The two 365-day plans at $100 and $159 suit light users who prefer paying once a year. The $55/month postpaid plan includes Canada-US-Mexico roaming with data, talk, and text. Koodo also offers 24-month device financing.
PC Mobile includes PC Optimum rewards integration across all plans. New customers earn 20,000 PC Optimum points after two months of service. Every top-up earns 5% of the top-up value in PC Optimum points, and an additional 5% is earned when signing up for Auto-Allowance or Allowance paid with a PC Financial Mastercard or PC Money Account. All plans include unlimited international messaging and a top-up data bonus (1GB on the $19 plan, 1GB on the $25 plan, and 5GB on the $30 and $34 plans). Plans from $25 add unlimited US calling and unlimited long distance calling. PC Mobile supports eSIM. PC Mobile does not offer international roaming, device sales, or a price lock guarantee.
Customer support
PC Mobile lists more direct contact channels, including phone, email, and in-store support, while Koodo relies on a chat bot, phone callback, a community forum, and self-serve articles. Despite the narrower set of live channels, Koodo scores noticeably higher on customer satisfaction at 2.8/5 on Topicks.ca, compared with 1.0/5 for PC Mobile.
Who should choose which?
- You travel outside Canada and need roaming - Koodo has daily rates and passes for the US, Europe, Asia, the Caribbean, and more, while PC Mobile has none
- You need to finance a new phone over 24 months
- You want rollover data, included on every Koodo postpaid plan
- You want the lowest entry price, with a $15/month starter plan or annual plans at $100 or $159 per year
- You want the most prepaid data and do not mind 4G speeds - 75GB plus a 5GB auto top-up bonus for $39
- You want Canada-US-Mexico roaming built into a monthly plan ($55/month, 60GB on 5G)
- You place weight on customer satisfaction - Koodo rates 2.8/5 versus 1.0/5
- You want 5G on a prepaid plan - available from $25/month, while every Koodo prepaid plan is 4G
- You want 55GB on 5G for $34/month, well below the $45/month entry point for 5G on Koodo
- You want unlimited US calling and unlimited long distance included from $25/month
- You shop at PC-affiliated stores and want PC Optimum points, including 20,000 points after two months and 5% back on top-ups
- You prefer email or in-store support options
- You already own an unlocked phone and do not travel outside Canada
Koodo wins on flexibility, travel, and device financing, with 16 plans spanning prepaid, annual, and postpaid options, rollover data, roaming passes for every major region, and a higher customer rating. PC Mobile wins on prepaid 5G value and rewards, opening 5G at $25/month, offering 55GB on 5G for $34/month, and adding unlimited US calling and PC Optimum points on top.
The deciding factors are whether you travel outside Canada or need a new phone, and whether 5G speeds and PC Optimum rewards matter more to you than plan flexibility. Network coverage is close enough nationally that your own address should settle any remaining doubt.
