Primus and Rogers take very different approaches to home internet. Rogers runs its own network, which includes the former Shaw network in Western Canada after Rogers acquired Shaw in 2023, and in the Topicks.ca database sells Xfinity fibre plans in Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan, on 24-month terms with promotional pricing that steps up after 2 years. Primus is part of the Bell family but independently operated, and sells service over the Bell, Rogers, Shaw, and Cogeco networks, with fibre plans in Ontario and Quebec and cable plans in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, all at regular monthly rates with no contract. The two ISPs overlap in Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, and the winner changes depending on the province. This page compares them on plans, pricing, download and upload speeds, coverage, contract terms, equipment, and support.
Plans and pricing
Primus offers 7 plans: 4 fibre plans in Ontario and Quebec ($55 to $70/month) and 3 cable plans in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan ($55 to $130/month), all at regular rates with no contract. Rogers offers 16 Xfinity home fibre plans, all on 24-month terms: 3 in Ontario ($75 to $100/month), 5 in New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador ($75 to $100/month), 4 in Alberta, British Columbia, and Manitoba ($70 to $110/month), and 4 in Saskatchewan ($50 to $80/month). Every Rogers price is a promotional rate for 2 years, with the regular price shown struck through, and already includes a $5/month automatic payment discount. Rogers also sells 5G Home Internet wireless plans, which are not counted here and are covered under Quebec below.
Ontario: Primus is cheaper at every tier
At 150/150 Mbps, Primus charges $55/month versus $75/month for Rogers Xfinity Starter 150. At 500 Mbps, Primus is $60/month for 500/500 Mbps, while Rogers is $90/month for 500/200 Mbps, a $30/month or $360/year saving with Primus plus a faster upload. Rogers does not list a 1 Gbps plan in Ontario: Primus 1000/750 Mbps is $70/month, while Rogers Xfinity Premier 2G is $100/month for 2000/200 Mbps, so Rogers gives twice the download speed for $30/month more, while Primus gives almost four times the upload. The gap widens after the Rogers promotion ends, when Ontario prices rise to $110, $130, and $160/month.
Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan: Rogers is cheaper for 2 years
In the West, Rogers promotional prices undercut Primus at 500 Mbps and above. In Alberta and British Columbia, 500/200 Mbps is $80/month with Rogers versus $90/month with Primus, and 1000/200 Mbps is $95/month versus $130/month, a $840 saving over the 2-year promotion. In Saskatchewan the gap is wider: Rogers is $50/month for 100/100 Mbps, $60/month for 500/200 Mbps, and $70/month for 1000/200 Mbps, versus $55, $90, and $130/month with Primus. At the entry level in Alberta and British Columbia, Primus is cheaper ($55/month for 75/50 Mbps versus $70/month for Rogers 100/100 Mbps), but slower. After 2 years, Rogers regular prices of $110, $130, and $140/month put Primus ahead at 500 Mbps ($40/month less) and 1 Gbps ($10/month less), and Primus never requires a contract. Rogers also adds a 2 Gbps tier in the West ($110/month in AB and BC, $80/month in SK) that Primus does not offer.
Quebec: Primus fibre versus Rogers 5G Home Internet
Rogers does not list wired plans in Quebec. Its Quebec options are 5G Home Internet wireless plans at $35/month (100/10 Mbps, 200 GB), $45/month (300/10 Mbps, 600 GB), and $60/month (500/30 Mbps, no data cap listed), all with no contract. Primus sells fibre in Quebec at $55/month for 150/150 Mbps, $60/month for 500/500 Mbps, and $70/month for 1000/750 Mbps, with unlimited data and much faster upload. Rogers 5G Home Internet is also sold in Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, and as an alternative in its wired provinces.
Network and coverage
Rogers sells home fibre in seven provinces and Primus sells service in five, with Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan as the shared markets. Rogers runs its own network, including the former Shaw network in Western Canada, and adds 5G Home Internet wireless plans in all 10 provinces. Primus sells service over the Bell, Rogers, Shaw, and Cogeco networks, with fibre plans in Ontario and Quebec and cable plans in Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan; the network used varies by address, so at some addresses Primus and Rogers may share the same underlying network. Residents of New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Manitoba can choose Rogers fibre but not Primus, while Quebec residents can choose Primus fibre or Rogers 5G wireless.
Upload speed depends heavily on the province. In Ontario, Primus fibre is symmetrical at 150 and 500 Mbps and reaches 750 Mbps upload on its gigabit plan, while Rogers is symmetrical only on Starter 150 and caps upload at 200 Mbps on its 500 Mbps and 2 Gbps plans. In Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, both ISPs top out at 200 Mbps upload on their 500 Mbps and faster plans, though Rogers Starter 100 is symmetrical at 100/100 Mbps versus 75/50 Mbps for the Primus entry plan. Rogers is fully symmetrical from 500 Mbps to 3 Gbps in New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador, where Primus does not sell service.
Head-to-head comparison
| Feature | Primus | Rogers |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (ON) | $55/mo (150/150 Mbps Fibre) | $75/mo (150/150 Mbps, 24-month) |
| Starting price (AB, BC, SK) | $55/mo (75/50 Mbps Cable) | $70/mo (100/100 Mbps, AB, BC); $50/mo (100/100 Mbps, SK); 24-month |
| 500 Mbps tier (ON) | $60/mo for 500/500 Mbps | $90/mo for 500/200 Mbps (24-month) |
| 500 Mbps tier (AB, BC, SK) | $90/mo for 500/200 Mbps | $80/mo (AB, BC); $60/mo (SK) for 500/200 Mbps, 24-month |
| Gigabit tier (ON) | $70/mo for 1000/750 Mbps | No 1 Gbps plan; $100/mo for 2000/200 Mbps (24-month) |
| Gigabit tier (AB, BC, SK) | $130/mo for 1000/200 Mbps | $95/mo (AB, BC); $70/mo (SK) for 1000/200 Mbps, 24-month |
| Top residential speed | 1,000/750 Mbps (Fibre, ON, QC) | 3,000/3,000 Mbps (NB, NL); 2,000/200 Mbps (ON, AB, BC, MB, SK) |
| Upload speeds (ON) | 150 to 750 Mbps; symmetrical at 150 and 500 Mbps | 150 Mbps on Starter 150; 200 Mbps on 500 Mbps and 2 Gbps plans |
| Data cap | Unlimited (all plans) | Unlimited (all Xfinity fibre plans); 200 GB or 600 GB on most 5G Home Internet plans |
| Pricing structure | Regular monthly rates, no promotional reversion | Promotional price for 2 years, then regular price ($110 to $170/mo); includes $5/mo autopay discount |
| Price lock guarantee | No stated price guarantee | No stated price guarantee |
| Contract options | No contract (all plans) | 24 months (all fibre plans); no contract (5G Home Internet) |
| Installation fee | Not specified; free activation on select plans | Self-install usually free; fee may apply if professional install is required |
| Equipment | Wi-Fi 6 equipment (select plans) | Gateway or modem included on every fibre plan |
| Termination fee | Not specified | Not specified |
| Quebec | Fibre from $55/mo, up to 1000/750 Mbps, unlimited data | 5G Home Internet only, $35 to $60/mo, 10 to 30 Mbps upload |
| Provinces served | 5 (ON, QC, AB, BC, SK) | 7 with home fibre (ON, NB, NL, AB, BC, MB, SK); 5G Home Internet in all 10 |
| Underlying network(s) | Bell, Rogers, Shaw, Cogeco (varies by address) | Rogers (own network, includes former Shaw network) |
| Bundles | Not offered | $10/mo off with Rogers mobile (AB, BC, MB plans) |
| Sign-up perk | Free activation (select plans) | $100 bill credit (ON, NB, NL); $50 bill credit (SK and select AB, BC, MB plans) |
| Customer support | Phone, live chat, self-support, Self-Help app, network status page, English and French | Phone, online chat, MyRogers app, retail stores, online self-serve portal |
| Customer rating (Topicks.ca) | 5.0 / 5 | 2.6 / 5 |
Contract and pricing details
Primus sells every plan on a no-contract basis, with no stated price guarantee and no promotional pricing listed; the listed prices are regular monthly rates. In Ontario and Quebec, fibre plans are 150/150 Mbps at $55/month, 500/500 Mbps at $60/month, and 1000/750 Mbps at $70/month (the same price in both provinces). In Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, cable plans are 75/50 Mbps at $55/month, 500/200 Mbps at $90/month, and 1000/200 Mbps at $130/month. Available plans may vary based on your address, so confirm pricing and eligibility directly with Primus.
Rogers sells every Xfinity fibre plan on a 24-month term at a promotional price for 2 years, after which the regular price applies. Every listed price includes a $5/month discount for automatic payment. In Ontario: Starter 150 ($75/mo, then $110), Popular 500 ($90/mo, then $130), and Premier 2G ($100/mo, then $160), each with a $100 bill credit. In New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador: Starter 150 ($75/mo, then $110), Popular 500 ($85/mo, then $130), Ultimate 1 Gigabit ($95/mo, then $140), Premier 2.5 Gigabit ($100/mo, then $165), and Premier 3.0 Gigabit ($100/mo, then $170), each with a $100 bill credit. In Alberta, British Columbia, and Manitoba: Starter 100 ($70/mo, then $110), Popular 500 ($80/mo, then $130), Ultimate 1G ($95/mo, then $140), and Premier 2G ($110/mo, then $160), with $10/month off when bundled with Rogers mobile and a $50 bill credit on Starter 100 and Premier 2G. In Saskatchewan: Starter 100 ($50/mo, then $110), Popular 500 ($60/mo, then $130), Ultimate 1G ($70/mo, then $140), and Ultimate 2G ($80/mo, then $160), each with a $50 bill credit. Rogers 5G Home Internet plans are no contract. Rogers' termination fee is not specified in available plan data; confirm it directly with Rogers.
Equipment and installation
Primus includes Wi-Fi 6 equipment and free activation on select plans; the plans that qualify are not specified in available plan data. Installation fees and equipment rental or purchase terms are also not specified. Confirm equipment, activation, and installation terms directly with Primus before signing up.
Rogers includes equipment in the monthly price on every Xfinity fibre plan: a gateway on Ontario plans and on Popular 500 and faster plans in New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador, and a modem on Starter 150 (NB, NL) and all Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan plans. Self-installation is usually free, but a fee may apply if professional installation is required; confirm with Rogers whether self-install or professional installation applies at your address and whether any fees apply.
Perks and add-ons
Primus offers free activation and Wi-Fi 6 equipment on select plans. Primus does not list bundle discounts, TV, streaming perks, loyalty perks, or student pricing in available plan data. Unlimited data is included on every plan.
Rogers includes a $100 bill credit on all Ontario, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland and Labrador fibre plans, and a $50 bill credit on all Saskatchewan plans and on Starter 100 and Premier 2G in Alberta, British Columbia, and Manitoba. Alberta, British Columbia, and Manitoba plans save $10/month when bundled with Rogers mobile. Every fibre plan includes a gateway or modem and unlimited data. Rogers 5G Home Internet plans include a 30-day risk-free trial.
Customer support
Both ISPs offer phone and chat support plus an app for managing your account. Rogers adds retail stores for in-person help, while Primus publishes a public network status page and offers support in English and French. Primus holds a 5.0/5 customer rating on Topicks.ca versus 2.6/5 for Rogers, a wide gap in reviewer satisfaction.
Who should choose which?
- You live in Ontario: Primus fibre is $55/month for 150/150 Mbps, $60/month for 500/500 Mbps, and $70/month for 1000/750 Mbps, below Rogers at every tier
- Upload speed matters in Ontario: Primus reaches 500 Mbps upload at $60/month and 750 Mbps at $70/month, while Rogers caps upload at 200 Mbps above its 150 Mbps plan
- You live in Quebec and want wired internet: Primus sells fibre there, while Rogers lists only 5G Home Internet
- You do not want a contract: every Primus plan is no contract, while every Rogers fibre plan is a 24-month term
- You want a price that does not jump later: Primus lists regular rates, while Rogers prices rise to $110 to $170/month after 2 years
- You want a low-cost basic plan in Alberta or British Columbia: Primus 75/50 Mbps is $55/month versus $70/month for Rogers Starter 100
- Customer satisfaction matters: Primus holds 5.0/5 on Topicks.ca versus 2.6/5 for Rogers
- You live in Saskatchewan: Rogers is $50, $60, and $70/month for 100, 500, and 1000 Mbps for 2 years, versus $55, $90, and $130/month with Primus
- You want 500 Mbps or 1 Gbps in Alberta or British Columbia and accept a 24-month term: Rogers is $80 and $95/month versus $90 and $130/month with Primus
- You need more than 1 Gbps: Rogers offers 2 Gbps in Ontario and the West, and up to 3 Gbps symmetrical in New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador
- You live in New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, or Manitoba: Rogers has fibre plans there, and Primus does not
- You want equipment included on every plan: Rogers includes a gateway or modem in the monthly price
- You want a sign-up bill credit ($100 in ON, NB, NL; $50 in SK and on select AB, BC, MB plans) or a $10/month mobile bundle discount in AB, BC, and MB
- You prefer in-store support at Rogers retail locations
Primus wins in Ontario and Quebec, and on contract flexibility and customer rating. In Ontario, Primus fibre undercuts Rogers at every tier by $20 to $30/month with much faster upload, and in Quebec it offers fibre where Rogers sells only 5G Home Internet. Every Primus plan is no contract at a regular rate, and Primus holds a 5.0/5 Topicks.ca rating.
Rogers wins on promotional pricing in the West, top-end speed, equipment, perks, and reach. In Saskatchewan, and at 500 Mbps and 1 Gbps in Alberta and British Columbia, Rogers is cheaper for the 2-year promotion. It also offers 2 Gbps and 3 Gbps tiers, includes a gateway or modem on every fibre plan, adds bill credits and a mobile bundle discount, and sells fibre in New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Manitoba.
The deciding factor is province first. In Ontario and Quebec, Primus is the better value if its fibre reaches your address. In Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan, Rogers is cheaper for the first 2 years if you accept a 24-month term, while Primus is cheaper after that and never locks you in. In Atlantic Canada and Manitoba, only Rogers is an option.
View the Rogers internet coverage map, Bell internet coverage map, Shaw internet coverage map, and Cogeco internet coverage map on Topicks.ca to check which networks serve your area.
